Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
Join A Committee
Share |


Committee Opportunities

Committee participation allows HAWL members to volunteer on projects that fit their interests and availability. To join a committee, please update your profile in the members-only area of this website or reach out to the committee chairs listed below. 


Awards Committee: Prepare applications for awards and grants for HAWL and its members.

Chairs: Katherine Earle Yanes and Suketa Shah


By Laws Committee: Review the bylaws and propose changes as appropriate.

Chairs:Susan Sandler


Community Outreach Committee: Organize HAWL’s outreach programs or charitable events.

Chairs: Lorien Johnson, Yesica Lopinsky, and Melissa Craig


Communications Committee: Maintain HAWL's social media accounts and email communications, including the newsletter.

Chair: Mandi Clay


Diversity Committee: Plan and promote projects related to equality of all types.   

Chairs:April Johnson and Elba Martin


FAWL Representative: Jennifer Soberal


Government Attorneys Committee: Develop networking, professional development, and continuing education events for government attorneys.

Chair: Melissa Foss


Judicial Relations Committee: Organize the annual judicial reception held in January, along with other opportunities to promote collegial relations with the judiciary. 

Chairs: Alex Palermo and Stacy Yates


Legacy Committee: Collect materials to create and maintain a database of HAWL documents and knowledge to be passed from year to year to each Board of Directors.

Chair: Theresa Androff


Membership Committee: Welcome and recruit new members, and assist the Vice President of Membership and Membership Chair as needed.

Chairs: Dara Cooley and Elaine McGinnis


Mentoring Committee: Mentor students from Stetson University College of Law or WMU Cooley Law School and plan social functions between the mentors and students.

Chairs: Jennifer Corinis and Mary Lou Cuellar-Stilo


Pro Bono Committee: Promote and plan pro bono activities among the HAWL membership.  

Chairs: Jena Hudson and Starr Brookins


Programs Committee: Assist the VP of Programs in planning and managing all programs throughout the year, including our monthly membership luncheons.

Chair: Jamila Little


River Run Committee: Organize and manage HAWL's tent and team for the HCBA's annual River Run, which promotes pro bono activities by lawyers in Hillsborough County

Chair: Monique Scott


Scholarship Committee: Meet in Spring to review scholarship applications and select student winners for the annual HAWL scholarships.

Chairs: Caroline Johnson Levine and Ashley Grant


Strategic Partners Committee - Recruit and manage strategic partnerships with relevant businesses

Chair: Debra Davis


Solo & Small Firm Practitioners Committee: Organize networking, professional development, and continuing education events for solo or small firm practitioners.

Chair: Shaina Thorpe


Take Your Child to Work Day Committee: Coordinate HAWL’s Take Your Child To Work Day program each April. 

Chairs: Sarah Kay, Roberta Kohn, Judge Anne-Leigh Moe, and Judge Frances Perrone


Voluntary Bar Leadership Committee Representative - Alison Stevenson


Website CommitteeEnsure that the HAWL website maintains current and relevant information and content.

Chairs: Marisol Ruiz


Young Lawyers Division Committee - Organize networking, professional development, and continuing education events for young lawyers.

Chairs: Ciara Willis & Hannah Becker

Thank You to Our Strategic Partners!